Leather carving

I have been practising leather carving for some time I am not sure I have improved that much but I enjoy it.

Having acquired some suitable leather I decided to have a go my original plan was to make a pair of carvings and turn them in to boxes. I got caught up in the box making process and the result can be seen in the NASA box thread. Incidentally that box now lives on a desk in NASA cool eh !

The process is quite simple a special knife is used to cut part of the way through the leather. Which is soaked in water before hand.

DSC_0057

This is the starting point logos printed off and leather soaked I used a modelling tool to trace through the paper on to the leather, I placed a plastic sheet in between to stop the paper getting wet.

DSC_0058

The traced image does not show on a picture

DSC_0061

This is an in progress shot more advanced carvers can use shading and bevelling tools to really make the design stand out. I am not at that level yet.

Drying process I left them to dry for a few days lying flat there was not as much shrinkage as I had expected.

DSC_0063

I have previously made a mouse pad for my son so decided to do the same with this carving.

20170127_080526[1]

I made an oak frame around a piece of oak faced plywood which I then veneered with some very nice walnut burr veneer.

20170127_105241[1]

20170127_141558[1]

Not being adventurous with colours I decided to dye the leather black

20170127_193558[1]

The first finished carving I think I will be offering these for sale at some point.

20170128_121502[1]

 

Leave a comment