Little red box

I have had some down time lately where I have been unable to do the things I would like to do.

Turning my attention to the internet and auction sites I came across this.

20 03 box

Advertised as a jewellery box but with pen like dimensions I thought it may make an interesting project.

The listing did mention there was some red paint on the back but I was a little surprised when it arrived.

DSC_0099[1]

Fortunately it was quite easy to remove.

DSC_0105[1]

As you can see from the first image the leather was very dry so I added some leather conditioner.

DSC_0107[1]

Turning my attention to the inside after cleaning out the pieces of glue and other lining materials.

DSC_0101[1]

I separated the lid from the base to allow the hinges to be straightened I also discovered the lid is warped which will require some attention.

DSC_0124[1]

The lining of the base is in three separate pieces the lid is lined in one piece as the sides are so small.

DSC_0123[1]

here is one of the potential suede liners for the inside

DSC_0115[1]

Leave a Reply

